[Valid Atom 1.0]

quarta-feira, 21 de dezembro de 2011

Recording Academy honors Glen Campbell, Steve Jobs and more

Glen Campbell photo
Today, the Recording Academy named Glen Campbell, the Allman Brothers Band, George Jones, Diana Ross, Gil Scott-Heron, the Memphis Horns and Antonio Carlos Jobim as recipients of this year’s Lifetime Achievement Awards. Steve Jobs, Dave Bartholomew and Rudy Van Gelder were also chosen to receive Trustee Awards.
The recipients will be honored at an invitation-only ceremony Feb.11, and the honorees will be acknowledged  the following day during the telecast of the 54th annual Grammy Awards at Staples Center. 
 "This year's honorees offer a variety of brilliance, contributions and lasting impressions on our culture," Neil Portnow, president and chief executive of the Recording Academy, said in a statement released Wednesday. "It is an honor to recognize such a diverse group of individuals whose talents and achievements have had an indelible impact on our industry."
The Recording Academy describes the Lifetime Achievement Award as honoring those “performers who have made contributions of outstanding artistic significance to the field of recording.” The Trustees Award “recognizes contributions in areas other than performance.” Both awards are determined by vote of the Recording Academy's national board of trustees.
Celemony and Roger Nichols were also named as Technical Grammy Award honorees for their  outstanding contributions to the recording field. Technical Grammy Award recipients are voted in by the academy's producers and engineers wing advisory council and chapter committees as well as the academy's trustees.


Sphere: Related Content
26/10/2008 free counters

Nenhum comentário: